Steven Price

Price, Steven_cr_Centric Photography

STEVEN PRICE is the author of two award-winning poetry books, Anatomy of Keys (2006), winner of the Gerald Lampert Award, and Omens in the Year of the Ox (2012), winner of the ReLit Award. His first novel, Into That Darkness, was published by Thomas Allen to acclaim in 2011. He lives in Victoria, B.C.

A magnificent literary historical-suspense novel in the tradition of Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries, Patrick DeWitt’s The Sisters Brothers, and Michael Faber’s The Crimson Petal and the White, BY GASLIGHT is destined to be one of the most acclaimed and talked-about books of the year. And this extraordinary novel was the last novel the extraordinary editor Ellen Seligman worked on.

London, 1885. In a city of fog and darkness, the notorious thief Edward Shade exists only as a ghost, a fabled con, a thief of other men’s futures – a man of smoke. William Pinkerton is already famous, the son of a brutal detective, when he descends into the underworld of Victorian London in pursuit of a new lead. His father died without ever tracing Shade; William, still reeling from his loss, is determined to drag the thief out of the shadows. Adam Foole is a gentleman without a past, haunted by a love affair ten years gone. When he receives a letter from his lost beloved, he returns to London in search of her; what he learns of her fate, and its connection to the man known as Shade, will force him to confront a grief he thought long-buried. What follows is a fog-enshrouded hunt through sewers, opium dens, drawing rooms, and séance halls. Above all, it is the story of the most unlikely of bonds: between William Pinkerton, the greatest detective of his age, and Adam Foole, the one man who may hold the key to finding Edward Shade.

Epic in scope, brilliantly conceived, and stunningly written, Steven Price’s BY GASLIGHT is a riveting, atmospheric portrait of two men on the brink. Moving from the diamond mines of South Africa to the battlefields of the Civil War, the novel is a journey into a cityscape of grief, trust, and its breaking, where what we share can bind us even against our darker selves.

 

“This sweeping tale of the unforgettable William Pinkerton and Adam Foole thrusts the reader into smoky Victorian London with all its grit and glitter. Uniting the literary grace and depth of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy with the intrigue and momentum of a Sherlock Holmes story, BY GASLIGHT is completely absorbing – an epic, brilliantly written novel to rank with the world’s best.”

Jacqueline Baker, author of The Broken Hours

 

“This darkly mesmerizing tale is worthy of the great Victorian thriller writers, but Steven Price brings to his prose a sensibility and dazzling skill all his own. The gruesome, eerie events that unfold during the search for Charlotte Reckitt are given enthralling life in a book that is perfectly grounded in period and rich in incident and image. Haunting and deeply satisfying.”

Marina Endicott, author of Close to Hugh

 

“A poetic, persuasive pea-souper. Think Dickens with Maigret’s whiskers.”

Anakana Schofield, author of Martin John

 

“A dark tale of love, betrayal and murder that reaches from the slums of Victorian London to the diamond mines in South Africa, to the American Civil War and back. Superb storytelling.”

Kurt Palka, author of The Piano Maker

 By Gaslight was a Number 1 bestseller in Canada

Years Participated: 2017

  • book cover image

Thank you to our sponsors

    Platinum Level

      David and Dr. Patricia Morton

      Diamond Level

        Alan and Jane Stewart

        Anonymous

      Gold Level

      • Martha & Richard Whatley

      • John & Susan McWilliams

      Supporters of The Young Writers Awards

        David and Dr. Patricia Morton

      Silver Level

        Wendy Scott & David Moorhead

      Bronze Level

        Dr. John and Martha Vlasschaert

      Festival Friends

        R. J. Brown Insurance Brokers

        Dr. Beverley Haun

        Cathy Wilson

        John and Karen Beamish

        Lakefield Herald

        Friends of Alasdair & Wendy Wallace

        Barb Chisholm & Tom Miller